Guvves

My parenting is a little lax.  It’s a temporary lull.  We are just over a week away from moving.  Our current house is in shambles, boxes everywhere.  My mind is consumed with dreams of the new house: furniture, paint, a whole new beginning.

Maddie and Katie are paying a small price as we pack.  (Insert Mommy guilt here.)  They have missed some outside play time in these warm weather days while we pack box after box after box.  They have had to amuse themselves with puzzles and games and books while we pack and pack and pack.  They have watched one too many movies and eaten one too many not-very-nutritious dinners.  I am usually mindful of their meals and their TV time, but this house is not going to pack itself.

I was up late last night.  I couldn’t sleep, so I tossed and turned and worried about the move.  I worried about settling in to our new house, and I worried about all that needs to be done once we are in.  The morning came quickly, and it was rush, rush, rush to get out the door.

I was a great mommy while Katie cried because she wanted her daddy.  I was a great mommy while Katie demanded pink shoes, not white.  I spoke calmly to her, I consoled her, I smiled, I kissed.  As I watched the minutes tick by, my great mommy skills started to fade.  As I turned my back to fill my travel coffee mug (there was NO way I was leaving without coffee), I heard Katie rifling through some of the opened, half packed boxes on the floor.  “Guvves!” I heard her say.

“Must have coffee,” I was thinking to myself.

“Guvves!  Look, Maddie!  Guvves.  Hat.  Katie do.  Katie wear guvves,” I heard her saying.

Like I said, things are getting a little lax.

Guvves

Katie’s daycare teachers didn’t bat an eye when she showed up this morning in her spring coat, winter hat, and “guvves”. Maybe, like me, they only saw her smile.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

10 thoughts on “Guvves

  1. Katie is precious! That girl has style and packing for a move should not interfere. Moving, packing, unpacking is a nightmare, but soon it will only be a memory (much like childbirth).

  2. Yeah, too cute! I love that even during this trying time and lack of sleep and in the midst of all the stress, you can stand back, take a picture and just smile! They aren’t worried, so why should you? 🙂 Smile a bit more today!

  3. Keep smiling. One summer I fed my children at the swim club every night because my kitchen was being remolded. They are none the worse for it and it has become part of the family remember when stories.

  4. Okay, your “lax” moments are my everyday mom moments. This move is giving you some great slice material. Those guvves are absolutely fitting for today. Simply because she wanted them. 🙂

  5. Smiles are more important than perfect. And your mommy skills aren’t lax, a few movies and quick food with a nice sweet mommy smile, and all life is an adventure, and your children are happy.
    She is loved with her Guvves.
    You will do it! Keep smiling. I would love to read more of your new adventure. All the best to your new home.

Leave a Reply

