Rump

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

I miss reading.  In my previous life, I was an avid reader.  It is one of the many reasons I look forward to summer break: time to read.  My list of Books To Read is offensively long.  My Kindle is collecting dust.  Sigh.

Yesterday, I took Maddie and Kate to the public library.  They played in the Kid’s Corner for quite a while, and then we browsed the book stacks.  We checked out 15 picture books and headed towards the door, eager to get home and read.  A book cover caught my eye on the way out.  It was Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstilskin by Liesl Shurtliff.  I heard a lot of buzz about this fractured fairy tale, and I had been wanting to read it.  “Oh well,” I thought to myself, “I’ll add it to my list.”  Then, I glanced again.  It was an audio-book, actually.   Hmmmm…I have an idea.

I started chapter one this morning.  It was the quietest ride to daycare we’ve ever had.  I didn’t know if Maddie and Katie were still half asleep, or if they were just enjoying the language of the story.  Not a word was spoken, other than the expressive voice of the narrator.

Oh, and Katie.  During the first chapter, a couple of mean boys are ridiculing Rump, making fun of his name.  The narrator spoke, “Happy birthday, butt!”.  I heard Katie giggle.

“Appy irf-day butt!”, she echoed.

I guess they were following along…

 

14 thoughts on “Rump

  1. I hope you and your girls continue to enjoy it. Reading can’t be something we only do during summer break. We need it to nourish us. Carve out time for it. I promise you won’t be sorry you did.

  2. Aha! Brilliant! Clever moms are so amazing to me. What a great way to combine reading and a peaceful drive to daycare!! I love that the book was fun and made Katie giggle, too. 🙂

  3. Rump. What a funny word to say rump, rump, rump. Too cute of a slice. Makes me wish my morning drive were a wee bit longer so I could try this book in the car idea. It’d save me from endless princess and Pink songs. 🙂

  4. Funny! It’s amazing how they DO follow along, even when you think otherwise. My granddaughter started singing, “Led id GOOO, Led id GOO” in the car on the way to Florida. Of course, we had to watch “Frozen” then!

  5. Very cute, entertaining slice! I haven’t heard of that book, but I will have to add it to my list. What a great idea to spend your commute listening to an audio book!

  6. Reminded me of a drive to Florida and Becca wanting to listen to our book instead of watching the DVD in the back with her brother. So awesome. love audiobooks. What a great way to “read”

  7. We used to listen to Harry Potter on 5 hour drives each way to Arcata for Thanksgiving and the 4th of July- best drives ever. My boys and I would not want the ride to end.

Leave a Reply

