I Was There

See More Slice of Life Writing over at Two Writing Teachers

See More Slice of Life Writing over at Two Writing Teachers

A while ago, I wrote a post about how Maddie lost her first tooth and how I wasn’t there.   We’ve been waiting for the other tooth to fall (both teeth were knocked loose this past summer).   It fell out tonight during dinner.  I was there.

We went out to eat at a local restaurant, and I heard Maddie gasp as her hand flew up to her mouth.  She looked to me, tooth in hand.  “Maddie!  Your tooth!” I exclaimed.

She looked a little frightened, so I wrapped my arm around her.  I was right there.  “It’s okay, Maddie.  Your tooth came out!  The Tooth Fairy will come again tonight!” I said.

“Mommmmmmy,” Maddie cried, a few drops of blood gathering on her lip.

“I know, sweetheart.  Come on….”  Off we went to the bathroom.   We rinsed out Maddie’s mouth and looked in the mirror and wrapped up the tooth and hugged and looked in the mirror again.   I comforted her and celebrated with her.  I was there.

“Mommy, let me see the tooth again,” Maddie requested.

I was there, and I’m so thankful.  I just don’t want to miss a minute.  It’s all going by so fast, and I want to bear witness to every moment of their beautiful lives.  Maddie lays sleeping right now, her head on the pillow that covers her tooth.  I can’t wait for the morning, to watch her hand search under her pillow for the Tooth Fairy’s small gift.  I’ll be there.  Speaking of which, I better go… I have a job to do tonight.

16 thoughts on “I Was There

  1. So happy that you were there for Maddie! I know we can’t be there for everything, but I agree with you: “I want to bear witness to every moment of their beautiful lives.” And remember it too. What a special moment and I know she was thrilled to have you there too!

  2. You write so well about your experiences with your daughter that I wish I was there, too. I totally failed at the tooth fairy thing. Wish I could have a do over and be more like you, enjoying each moment.

  3. Great vivid images of the moment! It made me remember when my Maddie lost her first tooth during Thanksgiving dinner. Can’t wait to read about her reaction when she wakes up.

  4. Such a nice piece! I’m so happy for you that you were there! You have the ability to make the tiny mom things so much more than they are. I never thought about teeth falling out. Now I’m excited for that next phase too! Thanks 🙂

  5. What a great moment – the way you write about it is so heartwarming and exciting. I was just thinking about the tooth fairy the other day after I found Tommy’s first tooth. It sure goes fast, doesn’t it?

  6. These moments with our kids are so important. You are such an incredible Mom. I love all of the things you write about your girls. I can’t believe she is old enough to already be losing teeth!

  7. I loved your first post about not being there, but I really loved this one about being there. You could write a really cute picture book, I think, with the pattern of I was there and I wasn’t there, or Mommy was there and Mommy wasn’t there. Enjoy tomorrow morning!

Leave a Reply

