Every Thursday

It's not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

It’s not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

Every Thursday, I take Maddie to gymnastics class.  She really enjoys it.

I don’t.

Every Thursday, it is chaos and confusion as one class ends at the precise moment the next one begins.  Kids entering and exiting everywhere, moms yelling, coats and boots flying.  I hold my kids close, afraid they’ll got lost in the commotion.

Every Thursday, I try to keep Katie occupied for a solid hour while we watch gymnastics class from the viewing balcony.  Snacks, juice, crayons, iPad, magnets, books.  We cycle through my bag of tricks, trying to stay quiet and calm.  I am in constant fear that she will toss a toy or herself over the balcony’s edge.

Every Thursday, Katie cries because she doesn’t want me to help her walk down the stairs and she does want a drink from the water fountain.

Every Thursday, the teachers check to see if Maddie has learned to do a backwards somersault, yet they have never taught her how to do a backwards somersault.  Every week, they watch her try and fail.  I want to yell from the balcony, “Show her how!”. But, of course, I don’t.

Every Thursday, we eat fast food for dinner because there is no time to cook.  When we get home, Maddie is hungry, Katie is cranky, and Mommy is tired.

Every Thursday, we go. Maddie really likes it.

16 thoughts on “Every Thursday

  1. Dana,

    This so reminded me of the hours and days spent at sports practices with my son. I didn’t have another child to entertain but I often entertained other “watchers.” And yet, some days I really wanted a quiet space to unwind and decompress myself. No socializing, just quiet.

    You will be amazed. Now an hour seems excruciatingly long! But your kids will grow up all too fast!!!

  2. Ahhhh the things we do for our children! I can just picture the chaos . . . I agree don’t you wonder who is in charge of schedules?

  3. Hahahaha! “Every Thursday, we go. Maddie really likes it.” I actually hear the hilarious way you said that. It amazes me how you can turn all of these every day things into such great pieces. I know you slice often so I’ve wondered how you can even come up with so many things to write. It just serves as another example of how much this is a true talent of yours. I enjoy reading all of your slices!

  4. I miss those Thursdays with you! I was laughing about the backwards somersault- why don’t they teach them? Audrey still can’t do one- we tried the other day.. Now we switched to art class. It is less chaotic! I love the “Every Thursday line” It gave me a sense of comfort.

  5. You are a great mama. And you will be so happy that you did these things for your children as they get older. Hold on to your hat–the years fly! I love the Every Thursday connection to time.

  6. I would happily redo “every Thursday!” You are making memories with your children (some more frustrating than others), but memories regardless!

  7. Really enjoyed this glimpse into my future! HA! I love the repetition, but more than that, how perfectly you captured both Maddie and Katie’s personalities while at gymnastics!

Leave a Reply

