Night Creeper

It's not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

It’s not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

Lights off
Late at night
My head meets the pillow

Sleep.

Wait.

Footsteps?

Floorboards creak
I hold my breath

Doorknob turns
Light oozes in

A shadow looms…

A tiny shadow

Dora pajamas

Pacifier

Blankie

Giggles

My feet meet the floor
Tiny hand in mine

Come on, Katie

Back to bed

24 thoughts on “Night Creeper

  1. I love the title. I also love that you chose to turn this slice into a poem. It could have been a lovely story I’m sure and just as cute, but the picture that comes to mind with the short and sweet phrases really gives it the extra “creepy” feeling in the night.

  2. I love this and I can relate so well! I know all about the floor sounds…there is a creak in the hallway between the bedrooms. Your poem was sweet – tiny shadow, Dora pajamas. I love it!

  3. What a cute little creeper! Because I am surrounded by third graders and a second grade son, my version of a creeper comes from Minecraft. Not nearly as adorable.

  4. I love the “I hold my breath” part. Why is it we do that? I feel like by holding my breath it will change what is going on- when Audrey was a baby, it was like she would suddenly stop crying if I held my breath??? I thought it was just me that did that!

  5. I felt myself holding my breath waiting, hoping, you didn’t have to get up. I pretend I am sleeping and Emily will usually go back to bed. 🙂 I love how you use so few words but get across that heightened sense of awareness that us moms have when we hear just a little sound. You painted the pic of little Katie bug so well.

  6. Oh yes, when the crib is gone…wait for the night when you suddenly wake up and she is standing there staring at you. Scares the beejeezers out of you! Good luck and peaceful sleep to you and your hubby!

  7. The past 2 Katie posts are adorable. Love the variety of structure. I can see her shuffling through the hall. Makes me smile and then thankful that Aidan is not in a big boy bed 🙂

Leave a Reply

