The Bedding

It's not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

It’s not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

IMG_1218We converted Katie’s crib to a toddler bed yesterday   Miss Katie thinks she’s really something now.

As my husband changed the rails on the crib, I packed up the old crib bedding and took out the “big girl” sheets and blankets.  I sat in the hallway outside of Katie’s bedroom, and I remembered.

I remembered when we converted Maddie’s crib to a toddler bed.  I remembered packing up that same crib bedding and putting it in the spare room closet.  I knew that someday I would take the bedding out again.  I knew the spare room would someday be a nursery for another baby.  I knew that Maddie would someday be a big sister.

This time was different.  I packed up the crib bedding and put it in the garage sale pile. I know that I won’t take that bedding out again.  There are no more spare rooms.  Katie will never be a big sister.

I let this fact sink in for a minute, and a small part of me felt relieved at all of the things I won’t have to do again (sleepless nights, crying infants, spit up.)  Yet, another small part of me felt sad at all of the things I won’t get to do again (holding my newborn baby, first smiles, baby cuddles.)

But the biggest part of me felt grateful.  I remember choosing that crib bedding.  I was at Babies R’ Us with my mom.  My feet hurt, and my swollen belly was uncomfortable.  I chose bedding that was neutral, not knowing if my baby would be a girl or a boy.  I couldn’t have possibly known that my baby would be a Maddie, so full of sweetness and caution and curiosity.  I definitely couldn’t have imagined that I would be blessed enough to use that bedding twice.  That along would come a Katie, so full of love and spunk and humor.  I couldn’t have known.

But I know now.  And I am just so grateful.

So, with a sad sigh, I packed that crib bedding away for a garage sale.  Someone will buy it.  Maybe some young girl will come to the garage sale with her mom.  Her feet will hurt and her swollen belly will be uncomfortable.  She won’t know, either.  She’ll walk down my driveway, with a bag full of crib bedding and her mind full of possibilities.  

I went back into Katie’s room to see her climb into her new bed for the first time.  I smiled.  So many new memories, new adventures, await us.  No need to get sappy over some bedding, right?  

    

 

15 thoughts on “The Bedding

  1. It’s amazing how some of the items in our lives turn out to be the ones that are sentimental – and it hits you unprepared. As the mother of two, I too struggle with the fact that my youngest won’t have the chance to be a big brother. It’s funny though, each time I look at my independent children and think back the the infant days, I’m grateful for who they are now and what they can do by themselves. Thanks for sharing this with us. I know there are so many of us who can relate.

  2. Wow. This was so touching. A little bit of humor with Katiebug and her magnetic personality. A little bit of nostalgia – it’s hard to watch them grow up. A little bit of “lessons learned” and paying it forward in thinking about the young expectant mother that will love Katie and Maddie’s “old” bedding. A lot of grateful and blessings to be counted for what you have right now. One of my favorites. For sure.

  3. Totally a moment that a mom has captured perfectly. So many things to relate to here and so many things to admire about your writing. I’ll land on you humor is filled with grace when you ask the reader “no need to get sappy over some bedding, right?” Then add in, I’m so envious that you thought to use it again! Why didn’t I think of that? I gave mine away and bought new. Coulda woulda shoulda. 🙂

  4. What a beautiful slice! I love the way you come full circle, ending with the possibility of another young mom picking out Maddie and Katie’s crib bedding for her own little one. So sweet!

  5. Get sappy over the bedding, Dana – it’s a powerful moment. I felt the same way after Livy moved on from the crib…and your post brought it all back. It’s a big moment….

  6. The picture says it all. Katie is ready for her big girl bed! I love that you were able to take that crib bedding and relate it to all the memories of those kiddos. You are such an amazing writer! Great slice!

  7. I love the reminiscing of you with your mom and buying the bedding and how some young girl will possibly share in the same memory. I can’t believe Katie is in a big girl bed!

  8. Bittersweet for sure…….I get sappy over bedding……and a story to go with it….Thank you for bringing back those memories!! Beautiful slice!!

Leave a Reply

