Beautiful Contradiction

It's not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

It’s not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

Together, Maddie and Katie are the most beautiful contradiction.  Maddie is mild, and Katie is bold.  Maddie looks to follow the rules, while Katie looks to bend them.  Maddie observes, Katie acts.

They make a good pair, Maddie and Kate.  They are a lot like Jerome and I.  They just go together.  They make sense together.

I took Katie for her two-year check up this past week.   After the doctor gave Katie a clean bill of health, it was time for her immunizations.

The nurse came in with her tray of needles, cotton swabs, and band-aids.  She instructed me to hold Katie’s arms tight, and do not let go.  From the gravity in the nurse’s voice, I could tell she was worried that Katie was going to flail about wildly upon the slightest sensation from the needle.

So, I held Katie’s tiny arms as instructed.  “Ok, here we go.  One, two, three….”

Prick.

Katie didn’t flail, didn’t budge.  But a loud wailing and sobbing soon filled the room.  I reached towards Katie, ready to soothe her pain, but there she sat, grinning proudly.  “More shot, Mommy?” she asked cheerfully.

Like I said, they are a beautiful contradiction.  Katie got a shot, and Maddie cried.

22 thoughts on “Beautiful Contradiction

  1. I can picture this moment. And everything you wrote before the end set the stage for the inevitable ending.
    I have two girls, who, like yours, couldn’t be more different.

  2. My sister and I would cry when the other got spanked. I’m not sure if it was because we were worried for the other or because we felt guilt that only one of us got caught.

  3. Fun post! In a 4th grade class this week, we have been studying “Contrasts and Contradictions” as a literary signpost (see NOTICE AND NOTE by Kylene Beers and Bob Probst). It has been so fun to think about these in real life, in texts, in movies, and more! Your post was icing on the cake.

  4. When I was 5 and my sister, Julia, was 3, I used to cry for her as well. I am the mild one, Julia is the bold one. My mom still likes to tell us about it! Julia would push my mom away so she’d look brave and I would just sit there and cry and cry. To this day we are best friends–I have no doubt that Katie and Maddie will be as well!

  5. That is too funny!!!! Maddie cried while Katie got her shots. Too darned funny. You had me going there….clever little writer that mommy of the two very different, but compatible girls you are!

  6. I couldn’t help but read and think, uh-huh, yep, true… So like my girls. I enjoy their differences, just as you do. Love the last line…Katie got a shot, and Maddie cried. Short entry yet says so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

