Daddy, Not Mommy

It's not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

It’s not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

Katie prefers Daddy.  You’ll find no bitterness in those words for me.  It is what it is: Katie prefers Daddy to me.  I think it’s kind of cute, actually.

Katie demands that Daddy buckle her into her carseat, not me.  Katie calls for Daddy, not Mommy, if she wakes up in the middle of the night.  She prefers to sit next to Daddy when she watches Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  She wants Daddy to brush her teeth, read her a bedtime story, and put her to bed.  She waves good-bye when I leave for work, but cries when Daddy does the same.  It’s okay, I know that Katie loves me, too.  She just prefers her Daddy.

Yesterday, though, Katie was sick.  Strep throat, it turns out.  Daddy was at work, and my usually loud and rambunctious Katie was feverish and tired.  So, for the first time I can ever remember, Katie really wanted Mommy.  A lot.

Katie wanted Mommy to hold her all day long.  Katie wanted Mommy to cuddle with her on the couch.  Katie wanted Mommy to sing lullabies into her ear.  Katie wanted Mommy to give her cold juice and warm kisses.  Katie wanted Mommy.

Katie, with her red cheeks and her fleece pajamas and her monkey blankie and her bedhead.  Katie wanted Mommy to hold her.  And Mommy did.

Until Daddy came home.

IMG_3004

15 thoughts on “Daddy, Not Mommy

  1. I can certainly remember that feeling. This feels like a picture book that way your wrote it. I can see a teacher sitting in front of a classroom full of students reading them this story. 🙂

  2. I love the opening. Honest, direct and a sentiment of happiness for what Katie has with Daddy. Those relationships are so important. My Emme is the same. It sometimes hurts my feelings, but I, too, know she loves me, but has a special bond with Daddy that is so healthy! Thanks for sharing!

  3. This is just a great Slice- I love how you set up the moment (I am not sure that I will be so ok with it if Aubrey decides one day that she just wants Daddy more than me!), and then it circled back at the end of the day. Poor kiddo:( I hope she is feeling better!

  4. I just love the father/daughter relationship. This slice was great – you set it up perfectly. I hope Katie feels better! By the way, my Katie Murphy was also a BIG daddy’s girl (must be something about the name).

  5. Ooohhhhhhhh., such a cute slice…..I just want to hug you right now!!! I hope your daddy’s girl is feeling much, much better.

  6. There is something special about a daddy and daughter relationship. I never had that with mine and am so lucky that my daughter does. I hope she is feeling better. I don’ think there is a more helpless feeling as a mother than when our children are sick…especially at that age!

Leave a Reply

