Morning Moments

It's not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

It’s not too late to join the March Slice of Life Writing Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers!

Mornings at the Murphy house can be hectic.  My husband leaves long before the sun rises, so it is just me and the girls.  We have to rise and dress and comb and eat and find and zip and bundle.  Of course, I have our routine set, down to the minute.  Don’t worry, there is still room for fun.  (I’m not a brown crayon.)

It’s fun when Clifford the Big Red Dog wakes Maddie up.  Clifford is Maddie’s favorite stuffed animal.  He wakes her every morning by licking her face, jumping on her back, barking in her ear, and pulling the covers off her sleeping body.  Maddie thinks this is hysterical and wakes up every morning with a giggle.

It’s fun when Maddie gets a choo-choo ride into the bathroom to go potty and brush her teeth.  “All aboard!”, Conductor Mommy yells, and Maddie’s pajama-clad body wraps her legs around my waist.  Chugga-chugga-chugga-chugga-chugga, we make our way into the bathroom.  “Ticket, please!”, Conductor Mommy demands.  Maddie pays in kisses.

It’s fun when we go downstairs for breakfast at The Lunchy-Munchy, the name of Mommy’s restaurant located in the kitchen.  Hostess Mommy shows Maddie to her table and then announces the daily breakfast special.  “I hope you enjoy your meal, ma’am,” Hostess Mommy telsl Maddie as she delivers her food.

It’s fun when I go in to wake Katie, and I see her start to smirk as she pretends to sleep.  I peek through the bars of her crib and wait to see which one of us will laugh first.  (It’s usually me.)

It’s fun when Katie’s chubby, naked body lays on the changing table, waiting for a fresh diaper.  Katie shows me her shoulders, her elbow, her arms, and her legs.  She knows when she gets to her belly button that it is going to get covered in kisses, so she can barely contain her laughter as she names each body part.

It’s fun when Katie and I come downstairs.  We turn the corner, and Katie gasps with surprise and yells, “Mammie!”, delighted at seeing her big sister.  Every morning,  Maddie’s presence is a delightful surprise to Katie.  Every morning.

It’s fun when I say, “Ok, let’s go girls!”  A glance behind my shoulder tells me that Katie has her coat on backwards and her hat on inside out and her backpack is hanging from her foot and she’s wearing her Daddy’s old work boots instead of her shoes and, for some reason I’ll never understand, she’s holding a spatula.  My eyes meet Maddie’s eyes, and we all explode into laughter.

Hectic?  Yes.  Fun?  You betcha.

These moments are the ones I think about when I walk empty-handed and empty-hearted out of the daycare building each morning.  These moments are the reasons I can’t wait to do it all over again tomorrow.

15 thoughts on “Morning Moments

  1. All I could think of while reading this is how fortunate your girls are for having you. These are special times that they will write about in the future. You speak of the joy and also the sadness (empty-handed and empty-hearted). But the joy outweighs the sadness in this piece, and I’m sure.. In your mornings.

  2. You are right, Dana…you are not a brown crayon but that bright yellow one. Your girls are so lucky to have such a fun, upbeat morning with their mommy. My girls would wonder who kidnapped me in the middle of the night if I even thought about having that much fun. I not only will try to make my brown fade to yellow, but also to become like Dana! 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration! And about the writing…love the beginnings of each example…It’s fun when.

  3. Hey, I have a Maddie, too! Kids are so hilarious! Our home has a small cutout from the kitchen to the dining room, for ordering food. All the kids love placing their requests through the counter window.

  4. Umm..is this the slice you were referring to in your email. Let me rub my eyes. Are you kidding? This is amazing. AMAZING! Look at how much you pay attention to every detail in just your morning routine. Your love for those two beautiful girls is evident! I love this Dana…love it!

  5. Dana you rock! I just love your writing. I can’t get enough of it. You are SUCH a good mom. I love every. single. detail. of your morning routine. Small moments. That’s what it’s all about. It’s where the memories are made and you guys are clearly making them over at the Murphy house.

  6. I want to be woken up at your house! Again, your storytelling is a perfectly wrapped present to us, the readers and I adore it! My house is more like a hostage situation in the morning and I often pull away from my babysitter’s curb free, late and confused on what just went down.

  7. Your girls are so lucky to have you as their mom. Your writing portrays every detail, down to the spatula, of what mornings are like in your home. Enjoy these moments!

  8. A SPATULA!!! Love that part! Reading this makes me want to find the fun in my too-busy mornings. Such an amazing slice, and definitely a lot of FUN to read!

Leave a Reply

