Five-Minute Friday {Truth}

I’m participating in Five Minute Friday.  I’m writing off a word for 5 minutes, unedited.  Join us by linking up over here.

GO

Truth.  What is my truth?

Truth is I miss being in the classroom.  I miss the kids.  I miss the teaching.  I miss the relationships and the connections.  Truth is the pull of the classroom is stronger than ever.

Yet, the truth is I feel like the classroom is a step in the opposite direction.

Truth is I feel so at peace, so at home, so very content when I’m with my own daughters.  Being a mom is the most important thing, and I am so grateful for their presence in my life.

Yet, the truth is that there are moments, days, when I feel like I’m losing myself.  When I know I give every ounce of me to them, and I feel like I need some time to be ME again.

Truth is that I’ve loved my husband since I was old enough to feel true love.  He is the one great love of my life.  Funny, kind, generous, hard-working.

Yet, the truth is that this year has been a struggle for us.  Two kids, busy jobs, different goals for our family.  We are working it out, but the truth is that it has not been easy.

Truth is I wouldn’t trade this life for anything.  Truth.

STOP

7 thoughts on “Five-Minute Friday {Truth}

  1. Thank you for sharing, Being a mom and bring up children is one of the most important and at time difficult job you can do. I’m glad that you are working things out and although it is hard, is still is the where you are meant to be.

  2. I definitely understand the feeling of loosing yourself! It is so hard to find the right balance. Thank you for bravely sharing the truth about your life today. I’m glad I linked up after you at FMF. Blessings!

  3. Truth is, being a full-time mom is so challenging! Truth is marriage is awesome and at times really yucky! I applaud you for writing from your heart and being honest with the realities of your life-changing decision. I became a full-time mom after I came to know Jesus. You should be proud of yourself, I am of you! Your FMF neighbor, Cindy – many blessings

  4. Don’t you feel like you could have written about this one forever? I was upset we had limited time. There are so many angles to explore…I really like your comparison/ contrast approach. It shows the many shades of the, “truth.”

  5. Dana, this one pulled on my heart strings too much. I know these truths about you. I have heard you talk about them many times but the truth is that you are a great literacy coach and no one could ever do all that you do for us. AND the truth is you are one hell of a mom and those girls are so great because of you. You do need time to be you but not in your own classroom… in many classrooms because you need to make the biggest impact possible and the truth is that there is not enough time in one day to fit in all of the Dana needed. Good thing you worked out the perfect balance with Jerome for working at home and reconnecting. 🙂 The truth is that you are just the best.

Leave a Reply

