Settling In

See More Slices at Two Writing Teachers

See More Slices at Two Writing Teachers

We are settling in at the Murphy house.  Finally.  Back-to-school was rough on all of us this year.

Rough on Maddie because I wake her sleeping self up at 6:20 A.M.  Each morning, as we shuffle down the stairs, she wonders where the sun is and why it is still dark outside.  She’s settling in, though, and now she peers out the window to look for the moon.

Rough on Katie because I wake her up at 7:00 A.M., which is a bit too early for my sleepy bug.  She had a hard time adjusting to daycare and, for the first few weeks, she cried every morning as I turned to walk out the door.  She’s settling in, though, and she is happy now to toddle into her daycare room and greet her new friends.

Rough on me, coming off the lazy days of summer, trying to adjust to full-time work hours and some new writing projects I’ve started.  Trying to master the never-ending balancing act of being a teacher, a mom, and a wife.  I’m settling in, though, and have found pockets of time to fit it all in.

Rough on my husband, who lives among three girls who were having a hard time adjusting.  Luckily, he has the patience of a saint and was able to see there were better days ahead.  He is able to leave his work stresses at the door with his boots when he comes home late each evening, just in time for books before bedtime.

We’ve settled in at the Murphy house by going to bed earlier and having patience with each other and declaring 2 nights a week as “No Working from Home” evenings and prioritizing and re-prioritizing and remembering to breath.

We’re ready for Halloween costumes and sweaters and pumpkin-flavored everything.  We’ve settled in to Fall.  Finally.

10 thoughts on “Settling In

  1. I love the 2 nights a week rule and am also happy that you have a person in your life that takes their boots off at the door. He seems all in and engaged in his girls. It will be hard…but I know that you can do that prioritizing breath with your family. xo

  2. I enjoyed reading this! It had such a comfy structure with each paragraph starting with how rough it was and then slowly by the end of each paragraph letting us know that things were working out. I think as readers we always want to know that things are working out for our writers! By the last paragraph I felt like I could breathe easy, too, because everything is working out!

  3. Go for it! I wish we could institute “No Working from Home” evenings. That sounds like a blessing!

    I liked the way you used repetition to anchor the middle parts of this slice, Dana. It really held it together so well.

  4. The repetition of “rough on me” makes your piece come to life and serves as your main idea and the central message I will take away from your SOL. I used to cook LOTS of meals and stockpile socks in preparation for back to school season. My husband likes to say that September and June are each 2 months long for teachers AND for their families!

  5. The style of the piece made me want to read and read, Dana. I’m glad things are better. It does sound tough. My daughter’s family is like yours, two girls, and this year they had to find a new preschool. It was several weeks of the two year old being peeled off, and the 4 year old crying, and clamming up. It is better, & the school is good, but whew, like you, it took a while. Glad you shared!

  6. Like the others who commented – I enjoyed the structure of your piece. The repetition at the start of each section tied it all together.

    I hear you about the settling in part! My older son now has to get up at 5:45 for school, which means I need to be up earlier and earlier to help HIM manage. We’re almost in the swing of it, too.

  7. D Murph, don’t you feel like just when you get settled something happens like a God forsaken time change and all of a sudden your son is waking up at 5:30 instead of 7:00 and your daughter is having crying fits for no reason? Or is that just me? 🙂 I’m glad you Murphys are settling. I’m also glad I commented before you settled into winter.

Leave a Reply

