Five Minute Friday {laundry}

I’m participating in Five Minute Friday.  Write off a word for 5 minutes, share, and comment on others.  Join us!

GO

My laundry tells a story.  

Some time ago, my laundry consisted of business casual work outfits, comfy clothes for the weekend, and jeans.  Underwear and bras.  If you were standing in my laundry room with me, you might have noticed the sudden arrival of some men’s boxer shorts and work polos.  Dirty jeans worn on a construction site.  Ahhh, yes, I had fallen in love.  We were mixing our belongings and our hearts together, and it showed up in my laundry basket.

Some years later, if you were standing in my laundry room, you would have noticed the arrival of teeny, tiny pink and white and yellow baby clothes.  Teeny tiny socks and teeny tiny pants.  Maddie.  I always washed her clothes in Dreft, for she was too teeny tiny for harsh detergent.

Those baby clothes would get bigger, filling up more and more room in my laundry basket.  Eventually, Maddie became not-fragile enough for regular detergent.

Enter more pink clothes.  More teeny tiny hats and socks and pants.  Katie.  She wore her sister’s clothes, but she doesn’t wear her personality.  Katie is spunkier, with an edge to her that Maddie didn’t have.  You can see it on the stains and tears and dirt on her clothes.  She’s tough, yet still sweet.

My laundry tells a story.

STOP

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {laundry}

  1. How precious, Very precious way of showing laundry from singlehood to marriage to family laundry. It is unique and speciall. Good job.
    Sarah From the Hope journey

  2. Oooh the evolution of our laundry. What stories they tell… I like how you started with the work clothes, innocently leaving out the 80’s and the stoned washed jeans? 🙂 Jk. I know it’s five min so I’ll cut you some slack. So much to relate to… Dreft took me back to Michael’s tiny years (sigh)… and, “She wore her sister’s clothes, but doesn’t wear her personality,” Love it. Being a middle child with two older sisters, man can I relate. I love your writing style, Dana. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.

Leave a Reply

