Thank Me? Thank You.

I wasn’t going to write today.  I haven’t missed a day yet, but I was going to skip the last day.  It’s Easter, and I hosted dinner for my in-laws and the kids are all hopped up on sugar….  but my husband encouraged me to see it through to the end, and he’s right.  

It took me 2 seconds to think of what to write tonight.  A huge, from-the-bottom-of-my-heart, words-don’t-do-it-justice “thank you” to my colleagues who joined me in this challenge.  I keep getting emails and notes from you guys saying Thank You to me for telling you about the SOL challenge.  That was nothing… that was the easy part…. 

Thank you for being such a talented group of writers.  Your writing challenged me and inspired me every. single. day.  I admire your talent, and you’ve all made me a better writer by being my mentors.

Thank you for commenting on my writing.  Knowing you were reading my words made me put more thought into them, more effort, more emotion.  You were an ideal audience, and your feedback was invaluable to me.

Thank you for being brave.  You really had no idea what you were getting yourselves into, but you jumped in with both feet anyway.  I admire each of you for that more than you’ll know. (Especially since I said the time commitment was 10-15 minutes a day.  Ha ha ha ha.  Who knew we would get lost for hours writing and commenting??)

Thank you for putting yourselves out there for us to read.  My favorite part of this challenge – by far – was getting to know all of you better.  Laughing and crying along with you has been good for my soul.

I don’t know where this challenge will take us – I know next March it will be bigger and better for our district – but I know that I couldn’t have hand-picked a better group to light the way for us.  You all have humbled me with your bravery, your heart, and your writing.  So, thank YOU.  I can’t wait to celebrate with you!

xoxo
Dana

 

 

8 thoughts on “Thank Me? Thank You.

  1. Dana, Dana, Dana. Literacy coach extraordinaire. My friend. You are a wonderful teacher to teachers and I appreciate you, your ideas, and your support. I love you.

  2. 10-15 min. Haha! I kind of forgot about that little, completely unintentional LIE you fed us. 🙂 Well, however many hundreds and hundreds of minutes we racked up this month- it has been well worth it. Jill pretty much summed it all up above, but I will add how inspriational you really are as a writer. You have a distinct voice that in evident throughout all your writing- no matter the topic. Reading your writing has helped me to dig deeper to find and become more comfortable/ confident with my own. Thanks Dearie. It’s been awesome.

  3. This is awesome! I’m so impressed that you are doing this alongside colleagues from your district. What an aligning effort :). Your thankful words were beautiful today — I’m glad, despite everything else that was going on — you shared them with us. All the best, b

  4. I still say thank you. Thank you for your writing. Thank you for guiding us all to do this. Thank you for encouraging your teachers. Thank you for this challenge that has bridged the divide that can be four different schools. I feel like I have such an insight to the human spirit through the posts I have read. I agree- it’s made me a much more thoughtful writer- so mcuh so that I often have everyone’s posts running through my head at any given moment and I start thinking how I can write like my new mentor authors. I can only imagine the talent that remains untapped in our district!

  5. I do hope that you continue writing…I know that the 15 minutes a day (ha) is a nice little lie (I’m starting tonight at 9:30 in hopes of getting to bed ast a reasonable time!)…I love reading your blog and (as said before) will continue checking in…there is the SOL on Tuesday’s! 🙂 Hope to read you soon! 🙂

  6. Yay! You did it! How wonderful that so many colleagues joined together to take the challenge-writing from the heart really does help us get to know each other better! Will you continue to slice on Tuesdays? I want to read more of your work and family slices!

  7. I’m so glad you sliced yesterday. I was wondering where you were! It was a busy day, hard to have our last day of slicing on a holiday. Your excitement and belief in this process propelled everyone to such high levels. Thanks Dana!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

