The Blanket that Used to Be Pink

Image

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

Maddie’s threadbare blanket is a non-color.  It used to be pink, and now it’s not quite white.  I don’t think the current color exists in a box of Crayolas.  It is so thin that it’s barely existent.  It has quite a few holes, and the thick seam around the edge has long been torn off.

We brought Maddie home from the hospital in that blanket.  My mom showed up at the hospital with a pink sleeper and a matching hat and pink blanket.  I wrapped all 7 pounds 8 ounces of Maddie up in that pink blanket and put her in the carseat to take her home.

Once Maddie started to walk and talk, she insisted on bringing her bankie with her to daycare and to the store and anywhere we went in the car.  Bankie has been washed and dried more times than I could count.  Bankie has been peed on, drooled on, dropped in puddles, stepped on, almost-lost, and found again.  We don’t take Bankie out of the house anymore; the risk is too great.

Now, Maddie is 3 years old, and she uses her blanket to pretend to be a ghost, to peek-a-boo her baby sister, to wrap up her dolls, and to have fake picnics in the living room.  She still sleeps with her blanket every night.

Tonight, I looked at that blanket that used to be pink and remembered when it was as new as Maddie.  I remembered a slightly younger me walking through the door of our house with a new baby and a new blanket and a heart full of love so deep it brought tears to my eyes.  

Someday, I know we will pack that blanket away in a box.  Someday, Maddie will be too big to sleep with her blanket.  That saddens me, and I wish I could just freeze us here in this moment in time… me and Kate and my husband and Maddie and her blanket that used to be pink.

9 thoughts on “The Blanket that Used to Be Pink

  1. I love the way you focused on the “used to be” line in this piece denoting the many changes in both Maddie and her blanket. Sometimes I too wish I could freeze those magical wonderful days….the days when all the pieces line up so wonderfully and the stresses are minimal and our our love blankets those around us!

  2. This slice tugged at my heart strings. I liked the images you painted with your words: the way the blankie looks, what Maddie uses it for now, & the younger you. All of these images are what makes this slice so powerful.

  3. This is beautifully crafted. The focus on an object shows us the passage of time and the depth of love. My mom used to say she wanted to bottle us at different points when we were little. I know the feeling.

  4. Like everyone else, I love the progression of the blanket over time- from the day Maddie came home from the hospital until now. And I especially love the line, “We don’t take Bankie out of the house any more, the risk is too great.” And the last paragraph is gorgeous! I totally agree with you and your mom, watching kids grow up is really bittersweet!

  5. Those last few lines really struck me. As much as I can tell you are excited to see your daughter grow, its easy to understand from your writing that change is hard and the past always has a way of making us want to repeat it.

  6. Too much emotion! Too much sadness! I never want our babies to out grow their blankets. I love the way you wrote this. I can feel your mommyness in this piece.

  7. Oh, Dana, I loved it! Absolutely sweet. My favorite part line “We don’t take Bankie out of the house any more, the risk is too great.” You can sense it’s importance in Maddie’s life.

  8. Your writing captivates me! I seriously cannot explain how I feel when I read your posts. There’s a simplicity in what you write, but you just have this way of explaining things that makes me want to keep reading. I can picture this blanket and feel what you feel about freezing your family in this current moment because I feel this way all the time with my son. Keep up the fantastic writing Dana!

Leave a Reply

