Eating the Slices

Image

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

I convinced 16 other teachers to try this challenge with me.  Sixteen unsuspecting, brave souls agreed…. little did we know we’d be forever changed.

The writing part is good.  I’m thinking and living like a real writer for the first time in my life.  I’m exercising my writing muscles, that’s for sure.  It feels good.

But the reading part…. the reading part is better than good.  I can’t get enough of it.  I’m cheering for Nancy, laughing with Brighid, crying with Darlene, reminiscing with Mallory.  Some of these women I have worked with for years, I’ve sat in countless meetings with them, I’ve coached them, I’ve eaten lunch with them.  Truthfully, I’ve learned more about them in the past 10 days than I have in years of existing in the same school building.  And I. love. it.

And it’s not just them.  Strangers.  Complete strangers whose stories I can’t wait to hear.  I’m fascinated by the reflection, the emotion, the humor, the stories.  Your stories.

People think Facebook is addicting?  Facebook’s got nothin’ on the Two Writing Teachers.

Who knew?

14 thoughts on “Eating the Slices

  1. Totally agree with you! I love reading people’s slices, and the community that has developed around slicing, as much, if not more, than I love writing my own. And so great that you have gotten 16 colleagues to do it with you. What a terrific way to get to know people better!

  2. Little did we know:-) What a wonderful feeling…..I love the fact that we are able to connect on such a deep level…..and be forever changed because of it. I am not going to lie, I was scared to death to do this, but now…..I see it as one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. Thank you Dana, you have changed my life…

  3. I wish I had known early enough to invite others I know to join me. You are so right about the experience. You are lucky to be sharing it with others you know as well as with all of us you are coming to know.

  4. Wow! You must be one persuasive talker to get sixteen colleagues to join you on this journey. It is very addicting to follow the writings of so many people in such different stages of life, let alone where in the world they are. Glad you joined, maybe you will want to stay for Tuesdays the rest of the months.

  5. 16!! That’s great!
    You are so right- you have no idea what you are gaining when you first start. Addicting (in a good way) does describe it. Especially for those of us who already love reading and writing!

  6. Dana, Dana, Dana. I totally agree with you. I keep get so caught up in reading about everyone else’s life that I forget that my own life is happening all around me. The usual yelling or crying snaps me back into my world away from the slices. I’ve been completely wrapped up in reading everyone’s blogs. I’ve been so inspired as a writer. I feel like I have been changed as a person too. I love it though. Thanks for inviting me to take part in all of this fun.

  7. Yes! I’m so ridiculously hooked and I have piles of neglected laundry to prove it. I become so lost in reading all of your posts… It’s been amazing. Love! 🙂

  8. What a great post to take the words right out of our mouths. So true, and exactly why I keep coming back! Glad to hear you are enjoying the month. Sounds like you might just be a lifer. 🙂

  9. Yeah, I’m jealous of you getting so many teachers to write with you! One of my teachers sheepishly told me he’d been reading my blog (we’re friends on FB) and he’d been inspired to start his own! Felt amazing! Reading each others stories IS inspiring. Thanks for sharing yours! Marika

Leave a Reply

