Finding Katie in a Book

When I was pregnant with my second child, I was uninspired for names.  (Well, really, I wanted the name Evelyn, but my hubby said NO.  This time I guess he really meant it.)  So, I was very pregnant and very uninspired.

I was sitting on my couch reading Looking Back by Lois Lowry, and I read a sentence similar to “Her name was Katherine, but everyone knew her as Kate.”  Now, I’m not a sentimental person, and I don’t typically believe in signs.  But something happened to my person, my soul when I read that line.  To this day, I can’t really explain it.  My heart started beating faster, a smile crept across my face, my eyes started to fill with tears.  Kate.  Beautiful in it’s simplicity.  Sweet.  Katherine.  Sounds like royalty.  Sophisticated.  That name spoke to my heart in a way that nothing ever had before.  It was like the name had found me when I wasn’t even looking.

We went in to the hospital with four names: Katherine, Audrey, Colin, or Evan.  We left the hospital 3 days later with Kate.

Everyone calls her Katie or Katiebug, which is fine by me.  In my heart, she’s Kate, beautiful and sweet.

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

9 thoughts on “Finding Katie in a Book

  1. Dana, I am a huge fan of your first choice but Kate is quite elegant and your Katiebug is simply the sweetest. I’m glad that name found you. It fits her well.

    I admire your storytelling. You wrapped this piece up with a bow, a sentimental bow and that was beautiful … Like you!

  2. I loved reading about what you thought when you read that line in the book. I felt like I knew what you were feeling because of how you wrote it! Amazing writing!

  3. Love this story. What a wonderful way to find a name and a great story to share with your daughter. This line “But something happened to my person, my soul when I read that line.” is so powerful and conveys so much about what led you to your decision.

  4. Such a neat way to find the name for your daughter and that your husband liked it too! I think that’s the biggest obstacle is to find something you both agree on.

Leave a Reply

