She’s Madeline

Slice of LIfe is hosted by Two Writing Teachers

Slice of LIfe is hosted by Two Writing Teachers

You know how some moments, some WORDS, you just never forget?

All throughout my first pregnancy, I begged my husband to let me name the baby Madeline. (If the baby turned out to be a girl, of course.)  He hated the name and refused.  I begged and begged.  He said “No.  Not a chance.”

She was born, and it was, as you can imagine, a life-changing, awe-inspiring moment.  “She’s a girl!”, the nurse announced.  Then she asked, “Do you have a name?”

My husband looked up, tears in his eyes.  I knew that he had just witnessed something miraculous, and I could tell he was humbled.  “She’s Madeline.”, he stated.

I’ll never forget those words.  And Maddie was born.

(Two years later, Maddie’s baby sister Katherine was found in a book.  But that’s another story…)

10 thoughts on “She’s Madeline

  1. Amazing how your word have the power to take me back to the most incredibly beautiful experiences of my life….thank you, Dana. Your Madeline is a very lucky young lady…..

  2. Our daughter, Isabelle, was going to be named Madeline. (In fact, I was calling her Maddy in the womb before I knew she was a girl, since the name would’ve been Matthew, or Matty, if it was a boy.) And then, when we found out it was a girl, he declared he liked Isabelle better. While I still think she makes a wonderful Isabelle, there is a part of me that will always remember her first kicks in my belly as a Maddy.

    Glad you got your Maddie!

  3. I love it. You’re absolutely right. While we often remember written words that moved us.. There are some spoken words- phrases- that are forever engrained in our memories. Your words portrayed the moment beautifully. I can imagine- I can see it- the look on your husband’s face when he declared her name. It brought me right back to the moment my son was born. We had a simliar experience. 🙂

  4. Names for our babies is such a beautiful moment-her name must have been perfect for her! Sweet story!
    We waited to tell everyone the names of our babies (our 1st Born son-kameron and our 2nd born daughter Natalie-Kam picked her name!)

Leave a Reply

